Last year a friend of mine suggested recording the Songs (Cosmic Chants, edition 1938) of Paramahansa Yogananda.The idea was, to additionally support the schoolproject in India already sponsored by me.

This friend had already listened to me singing some of these songs; in their simplicity they are to me – like the Taizé Songs are to me f.ex. - enlightning little companions on my way,as well as lovely expressions of joy of life and gratitude.

Being myself of european origin, I decided to create the CD, together with indian musicians, with the aim to represent and respect, Paramahansa Yogananda’s desire to let East and West meet. It was my intention to combine the indian atmosphere and sense of music of the musician together with my european background and understanding of these songs.

A few years ago, I was lucky to be introduced to Pandit Prafulla Kumar Kar, a singing star in Orissa. I met him on a interreligious Festival where I performed on stage as well. For this project, I asked him for advice concerning the coordination of indian instruments and musicians. However, without knowing what to expect, I flew to India fully trusting that something beautiful was to come into existence. Finally the adventure of CD recordings in India took its course.

Vor einem Jahr wurde ich von einer Freundin angesprochen, ob ich nicht die Lieder von Paramahansa Yogananda aufnehmen möchte - auch um das von mir unterstützte Schulprojekt in Indien (Balashram Internatsschule, siehe www.handinhand.at) noch in anderer Form zu fördern.

Sie hatte mich schon oft einige dieser Lieder singen hören; in ihrer Einfachheit sind sie für mich, neben den Liedern von Taizé, aufhellende kleine Wegbegleiter für mich oder einfacher Ausdruck von Lebensfreude und Dankbarkeit.

So kam ich als Europäerin auf den Gedanken, mit indischen Musikern diese CD aufzunehmen, auch um Paramahansa Yoganandas Wesen und Wunsch Respekt zu zollen, das Abend- und das Morgenland einander näher zu bringen. Es ging mir auch darum, indische Atmosphäre und Musikgespür der Musiker mit meinem europäisch geprägten Sein und Verständnis dieser Lieder zu verbinden.

Pandit Prafulla Kumar Kar, ein Gesangsstar in Orissa, hatte ich vor Jahren auf einer interreligiösen Feierlichkeit in Indien kennengelernt, wo ich ebenfalls aufgetreten bin. Ich bat ihn um Rat bei der Wahl der indischen Instrumente und Musiker – und ohne zu wissen, was mich genau erwartete, flog ich in vollem Vertrauen nach Indien, das etwas Schönes enstehen würde. So nahm das Abenteuer der CD-Aufnahmen in Indien seinen Lauf.